19 replies to this topic

#1 kazukami

kazukami

Orange Belt

• Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 31 May 2010 - 08:39 AM

Hey guys,

I've been cutting since 2000, but was following the scratch scene since the mid/late 90s.

I was looking at an old klamz ov deth routine from like 97, and started remembering how the 05pro was the king of mixers back then.

Anyone from the old skool care to shed some light on to what they think would be the timeline of the skratch mixer? My history only goes back to when i started, the earliest battles i used to watch from the start had the old skool GLIs which the DMCs/NMSs used to use.

This is what I could gather, from what i saw: early 90s GLI mixer, mid 90s technics mixer which replaced the GLIs, then the age of the O5pro from mid to late 90s. 2000s came and the ttm56 started hittin the scene with the magnet faders... rane still leader in magnet fader tech... waiting for next standard.

This timeline is pretty biases true, but this is through my eyes. what where the hot mixers back in the birth of skratching. im sure the old school jazzy jeff gemini mixer is up there as well. Love to hear the knowledge especially as a gear head.

thx

#2 Yorick

Yorick

Spite

• Members
  • 1,578 posts

Posted 31 May 2010 - 01:40 PM

In the 80s it wasn't a mixer unless it had faux-wood laminate on the edges. ^_^

I think your summary of the history is pretty complete. I'd argue that the 56 never completely dominated the Vestax 05 in market share, it's a bit too premium for a lot of people.

#3 professorbx

professorbx

Blue Belt

• Moderators
  • 578 posts

Posted 31 May 2010 - 06:27 PM

View PostYorick, on 31 May 2010 - 01:40 PM, said:

In the 80s it wasn't a mixer unless it had faux-wood laminate on the edges. ^_^

I think your summary of the history is pretty complete. I'd argue that the 56 never completely dominated the Vestax 05 in market share, it's a bit too premium for a lot of people.

Alright, lets get this started-